Rating My Life

Icon

Rating my life one post at a time….

Thank You For Calling …..

Year : 2004 to 2006
Place : Microsoft Platforms and Desktop Support Floor, Bangalore

Thank you for calling blah blah blah , My Name is Vinod, Can I get your first name please ? I must have said this sentence over 1000 times in a period of 2 years. That’s right, I worked in a call center, but a call center of a different kind. You see, the normal call center’s had calls which would go for about 30 minutes. But ours was different. An average call would go for an hour and woudl extend upto 9 hours or even 12 hours. So who are our customers ? , you may ask…

Let’s say you have a problem with your Operating System (In this case Windows XP) and you tried everything you can to resolve but all in vain. Remember the Tech Support Number at the back of your Windows XP Cd ? You call that number if you are in North America and you would reach us. Well, forget about calling the tech support number if you are in India, because all of us have a very genuine copy of the operating system :P .

North American’s are different. They face one little problem and bang ! they pickup that phone and call the support number . Some of these callers are really really intelligent and some of them are really really really intelligent Ahem ! Sarcastic.

Though I left that job and its been 2 years, some of those calls still haunt me. I mean, I never knew there were people out there who were dumb ! I mean real Dumb !

  1. I remember this old lady calling me up once and she said her computer would not start and she does not remember what she did. So we do all the preliminary checks like restarting the computer, checking whether the CPU Fan is still on and stuff. About 15 minutes down the line, She tells me her monitor light is amber in color. Duh !! . Of course your computer would not work if you SWITCHED OFF YOUR MONITOR !!
  2. One dude calls up and he sounds very nervous. So I am like ‘What’s up dude ? Why you nervous ?” and stuff and he tells me his computer is hacked by aliens . Alright, lets take one step backwards. At 3 in the morning after a whole night of partying you come to work to listen to this crap. So I am like bring it on and ask him why he feels that his computer is hacked by aliens? He says I do not have Internet Connection and whenever I open Internet Explorer I get some weird message which says The Page Cannot Be Displayed !! I am like WTF !! you must be kidding me !!
  3. One guy had to connect 10 computers on a network, out of which 5 had to be wireless , two through a router and rest of it through the normal ethernet cable. This call went on for NINE straight hours. I am not kidding. I sat with the Customer for NINE hours to accomplish that.
  4. This other time my team member gets this call from an old lady who says her husband’s pacemaker is connected to the computer which monitors that thing and the damn computer had virus in it. Our hearts skipped a beat when we heard that. I mean imagine, the pacemaker is connected to the computer which directly sends feeds to a hospital and its got virus in it. Now that’s a real problem innit ??
  5. A girl calls up and wanted to know how to reset the computer password so that she could take revenge on her boyfriend . I didnt even know whether that’s a legal thing to do.
Well, the list is certainly big. Every call was different. Every customer had a different yet weird issue.  Every day was amazing and sad. You will have to experience it to believe it .

Filed under: Life in General

11 Responses

  1. neilina says:

    Oh man……9 hours?? this is too much!
    I am thinking what was ur reaction after hearing these calls….you must be totally fuming and banging your head on desk……..chill…..see, they gave food to your blog!
    Hey, your blog is nice, will visit often!

    Thanks for stopping-by in my blog world! :)

  2. neilina,
    Welcome to Rating My Life :) . Well i actually miss talkin to customer’s like that..there you i said it….lol

    You are always welcome here

  3. Sakhi says:

    OMG 8O Some job you had!!! :lol: enjoyed the post

  4. Sakhi,
    Welcome to Rating My Life. I sure had some job :D

  5. Priti says:

    ROFL…. Aliens!

  6. s w a t says:

    Funny stuff!! Wait till you find customers like me ;)

  7. Swat,
    Fortunately or unfortunately I am not part of a call center anymore. After I read your comment, I am like Thank God, I left that place long back .. lol

  8. Aparna says:

    Heights! That must have been one irritating job!

  9. Aparna,
    Coming to think of it now, i kinda liked it. :)

  10. shivya says:

    Whoa! Sounds like a fun job to me ;) I can only imagine how many posts you could’ve written everyday! The alien story has to be a little cooked up, right?

  11. Shivya,
    The alien story sounds like its cooked up, but I swear to god I am not kidding. I can prove it at any court of law ! That caller did say his computer has been hacked by Aliens….Weed can do lot more to a man !!

Leave a Reply

