Rating My Life

Icon

Rating my life one post at a time….

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star !

 LHC, I have been hearing that a lot these days. I am not gonna you bore you with just another blog of the world’s largest collider simply because I know about Physics as much as I know how to drive a freaking helicopter.

But yeah its one of those topics you can always talk about when friends are around. So this time when Ashwin dropped by we started talking about LHC, Bing Bang , Black Hole and all the other stuff which would go with it.

See the house parties we have is totally different than that standard Oxford Dictionary defined House Parties. We listen to Pink Floyd and talk about stuff which you normally ignore in a conversation. Call it crazy or call it intellectual Conversation I ain’t bothered.

The whole reason why I am sitting at 11:45 in the night to write a blog post about the Conversation we had some days back is simply because of one extraordinary concept.The other reason being, I am bored to death.

So while we were talking about Black Hole and how they speculate that time would slow down when you hit the Event Horizon, our man comes up with this concept about Stars. We all know Stars are near and far from earth. Lets say this particular Star is far from earth. Say about 200 Million Light years away. We also know that Stars emit light. This light has to travel for about 200 million light years before it reaches earth or before we could see it right ?

If its travelling at the speed of light for about 200 million light years, It would take a long time before it reaches earth. Say 1000 years maybe. Again, I am speculating, remember I am not good at maths or science.So Ashwin’s question is this.

If it takes 1000 years before it reaches here, obviously the light you see right now is about 1000 years old. You never know that Star you are looking at might have died long back ! Have you ever thought about it ? Isn’t it past that you are looking at ! Isn’t it past right up there on the sky ?

I was like Damn dude, you high ! I know it sounds like he is stoned and all but coming to think of it, it makes real sense. I don’t know if ashwin’s concept is scientifically bullshit. But I am sure it made sense to me. 

No wonder We were taught

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

How I wonder what you are ?

Up above the world so high

Like a diamond in the freaking sky !!

 

Filed under: Life in General

2 Responses

  1. Nithya Sivashankar says:

    “Isn’t it past that you are looking at ! Isn’t it past right up there on the sky ?”

    A virtual pat on your friend Ashwin’s back !

    :)

  2. theshowstopper says:

    Nithya,
    Thanks for dropping by. I thought I was the only person who thought his concept was super cool. But I guess I was wrong. The next time I meet I will deliver your virtual pat :)

    regards
    VC

Leave a Reply

