Rating My Life

Icon

Rating my life one post at a time….

Thanks Mom for not naming me Talula Does the Hula !

I  would like to dedicate this post to my folks. How thoughtful of them to name me Vinod. Well,you might be wondering, why in the world is this guy thanking his parents after all these years !?. I have a reason for it. Say you were born to certain parents from New Zealand who got the most brilliant idea to name their daughter “Talula Does The Hula” (I am serious !!). Check this link here. Some crazy ass couple has named their daughter “Talula Does the Hula” , i mean WTF !! . Imagine you are like taking that girl back home (as a friend) and you are like “Mom, meet my friend Talula Does the Hula”. Jesus , that’s a sight to see.

So the family judge in New Zealand says “The court is profoundly concerned about the very poor judgment which this child’s parents have shown in choosing this name, It makes a fool of the child and sets her up with a social disability and handicap, unnecessarily.” This gets better. He also revealed a list of names which are registered under the Birth , Death and Marriage Department.

1) Fish and Chips
2) Yeah Detroit
3) Keenan Got Lucy
4) Sex Fruit
5) Number 16 Bus Shelter
6) Violence…..

We are talking about a person’s name here. I sure don’t want to be called ‘Number 16 Bus Shelter’ or ‘Yeah Detroit’ . So Thanks Mom for giving me this wonderful name

Filed under: Life in General

9 Responses

  1. priyaiyer says:

    don’t tell me…. i don’t believe this!!! :O talula does the hula???

    i saw the link too, but didnt read it.. missed it…

    i thot priya was a very common name, but now m happy i dont hav a name soooooooooooo very uncommon. priya is just fine. :) thanks to my folks, too!

  2. theshowstopper says:

    Priya,
    I can’t even imagine being called something similar. I would have had a very bad childhood !!

    VC

  3. BlueMist says:

    oh you should read this hillarious post by lekhani on the same news :-)

    http://elekhni.com/2008/07/a-taxonomy-of-desi-names/

  4. theshowstopper says:

    Bluemist,
    Thanks for dropping by. I did read the post. It is funny.

    VC

  5. Stevie says:

    This is really funny…. Fish and Chips ah….Thank God I didn’t stumble on these names while I was looking a name for my son…. Sex Fruit… WTF… how can anyone be named this way…. Crazy huh… Well I’m happy too that I was not born in a place like New Zealand….

  6. anjana says:

    i used to think the craziest names came from certain ‘southern’ and ‘western’ parts of our country (to be politically correct). looks like i’ve been proven sufficiently wrong.

    btw, nice place u got here… came here thru shylacs.

  7. theshowstopper says:

    Anjana,
    Finally we meet :) . Heard a lot about you from shys … Welcome to Rating My Life….

    Southern eh ? Yeah .. but I think New Zealand steals the show when it comes to weird names. Talula does the Hula is alright…pardonable but imagine Number 16 bus shelter…wtf does it mean anyways ??

    VC

  8. anjana says:

    yes, we meet.. heard a bit about as well, and of course, saw ur very famous picture in the TOI :)

    yeah the bus shelter name is rather weird. i thought the name SEX FRUIT steals the show… imagine what they’d call the kid at home: sex, fuity, sexy!! i wonder, are these the names the bloody KIWI TRIBALS keep!?!?!?

  9. theshowstopper says:

    Anjana,
    I dont know about you…but I would be bloody jealous if I meet someone with that name Sex Fruit…. I am not really sure about the Kiwi Tribal, but I am pretty darn sure what I am gonna name my kid !! hehe…

    Page 3 feature was fun. We both dreamt of getting featured and it happened. Its all for good :) . One down, three more cities to go ..!!

    VC

Leave a Reply

